Generous Orthodoxy  

Eerdmans offers superior service, discounts, and speedy delivery, rivaling Amazon if you are a member of the clergy or ordering for a church. If you order 10 copies for Bible study groups or for gifts, the discount is really significant. Contact Amy Kent at for discounts.

All of the books are available as e-books. Again, contact Eerdmans directly at for excellent results.

Fleming’s newest book, The Crucifixion: Understanding the Death of Christ, was published on November 22 and almost immediately won the award for Best Reference Book of 2015 from the Academy of Parish Clergy.

Fleming’s 2012 book, And God Spoke to Abraham, comes with exceptional endorsements and is one of only two major Old Testament sermon collections published in English in almost 40 years. (The other one, published last year, is Stewards of the Mysteries of God, by Patrick D. Miller [with a foreword by Fleming Rutledge]. A gem from earlier years is Gerhard von Rad’s Biblical Interpretations in Preaching [Abingdon, 1977]. It is a priceless treasure; get it if you can!)


Books by Fleming Rutledge (all from William B. Eerdmans Publishing)

The Crucifixion (2015)
And God Spoke To Abraham (2011)
The Battle for Middle-earth (2004)
The Bible and The New York Times (1998)
Help My Unbelief (2000)
Not Ashamed of the Gospel: Sermons From Romans (2007)
The Seven Last Words from the Cross (2004)
The Undoing of Death (2002)

Books that include a chapter by Fleming Rutledge

Torture is a Moral Issue: Christians, Jews, Muslims, and People of Conscience Speak Out, George Hunsinger, editor. (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2008)
This Incomplete One: Words Occasioned by the Death of a Young Person, Michael D. Bush, ed. (Eerdmans, 2006)
A Peculiar Prophet: William Willimon , Michael Turner and Will Malambri, eds. (Abingdon Press, 2004)
Loving God With Our Minds: The Pastor As Theologian, Michael Welker and Cynthia Jarvis, eds. (Eerdmans, 2004)
Exploring and Proclaiming the Apostles' Creed, Roger E. Van Harn, ed. (Eerdmans, 2004)
Sermons from Duke Chapel, William H. Willimon, ed. (Durham: Duke University Press, 2005)